This. Is Scotland.

I had been looking forward to this past weekend for over a month. Not only did this weekend mean it was almost my birthday, I was going to see what all the hype about Edinburgh was.

After witnessing Aberdeen’s hour of horror (between 5 and 6 a.m. Saturday morning), when all the people you see are either too drunk to make it home or still sleep drunk, I made my way to the bus station where I met my fellow city trippers. 3 Hours later, we were walking through the buzzing heart of Edinburgh.

I now can help the hype going for this beautiful city. Walking through the old part it’s like you stepped back in time with buildings like little castles and street performers gathering crowds of people. You can just feel the history and see the stories. This is what I imagined Scotland looked like.

In 2 days we saw almost every tourist attraction we wanted to see. The castle, the cathedral, how they weave kilts, Holyrood palace, a pub on Grassmarket, the Royal Mile, the Edinburgh Vaults, lots of Christmas decorations, lots of fancy warehouses, lots of amazing old architecture, many more things and of course the Christmas market.

MF - Edinburgh 1 MF - Gluhwein MF - Bagpipe MF - Edinburgh MF - Edinburgh castle MF - Kilt weaving MF - Little castle OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA MF - Old City

This is a city where I could see myself living one day. A city well worth visiting. A city I will help to keep the hype alive.

One thought on “This. Is Scotland.

  1. A braw wee post there! Weel done lass..Did ye hae a braw bricht moon licht nicht in Auld Reekie or wiz it jist pure baltic? A wee hot toddie’s whit ye need in the Athens eh the North! Love the photaes 🙂 (hot toddie:hot whisky with lemon and honey)

Leave a Reply

