A Break in Newcastle

*Written on Friday November 30th, 2012* 

Long train journeys always make me want to write. They give me the opportunity to gather my thoughts and order my overly-active brain.

As I’m writing this on my BlackBerry for lack of paper, listening to mumford and sons (my all time favourite band!) and the smell of beer from the guys in front of me making me even more excited for this trip, I’m on my way to Newcastle, England! To visit my friend Chloe, whom I met in Ghana where I caught the famous travel bug. It was with her that I backpacked through Australia and we haven’t seen each other for over 3 years!

So while I’m on this side of the North Sea, a visit had to be done. Not only am I excited to see her, I’m on the move again! The lenght of the trip doesn’t matter. I will be in a new city, exploring my surroundings and most important, out of Aberdeen! No bad word about Aberdeen, I love the place, I just need a change of environment now and then.

This weekend will be all about catching up, bringing back memories of Australia, having fun and forgetting about all the school work waiting for me when I get back. Apparently Newcastle is famous for it’s party scene so I have to do some of that as well of course.

As we’re nearing newcastle, the lads on the train are starting to feel the effect of the alcohol they have been consuming sinds Aberdeen. Beers are falling over, the “for fuck sakes” are being yelled and no matter how much I hate overly drunk lads, I can’t help myself but to smile at their accents. After the Irish accent, the Scottish accent is my all time favourite.

As my overly-active brain is ordered again, the train is pulling into Newcastle. With snow falling down outside, I know I’m up for an exciting weekend. Time to find Chloe.

First sea after 3 months on the farm

Chloe and my feet in the sea after working 3 months on a farm in the outback of Australia

5 thoughts on “A Break in Newcastle

    • Hahaha, I had to read that twice before I got it, but yes I do love the wee accent now and then! Visiting Auld Reekie this weekend and Weedgieland towards the end of my stay here, so keep posted 😉

      Thanks for the very funny comment, made me laugh out loud!

  1. Beautiful, to see, to read and to feel the feeling of catching up with an old friend in the most interesting manner going through the rumbling, growling, shouting and all the kinds of loud noises- It just shows the spirit of the journey and the magic you gathered. In the same way I spend my few nights away from the modern world in the national parks writing the blogs which I will post in due course of time.

    Looking forward to seeing more of your footprints around this little world of ours.
    Cheerios
    MB

Leave a Reply

