The hangover


A few weeks ago, I was on a beach party here in Bali. While I was walking around, I saw a girl that looked familiar. This was not the first time this has happend to me, so I didn’t pay much attention to it. However, when I passed her again I was pretty sure I knew her. I plucked up all my courage (I still wasn’t that sure and it wouldn’t be the first time I would make that mistake..).  Turns out I was right and there we were, from the same home town, on the other side of the world without knowing the other person was going to be here! We had dinner shortly after that to catch up and it felt really good talking to somebody from back home in personal after 2 months.

Last night she invited me to join her and a few friends to get dinner followed by a good night out. Party animal as I am (or I would like to think I am..), of course I wanted to join! One beer lead to the other, throw in happy hour and I was having a bit too much fun..

So I woke up this morning with a small hangover and a job to go to. Somehow, this didn’t bother me at all. In fact, I felt strangely comfortable with it! Back home, it has happened to me more than once that I had to get up early after a good night out, to go to school or work. It’s a strange feeling of familiarity. It makes me feel like I have a life again. Or better to say, my student life back again!


My student life. I know I have been missing it, but really, so much that I need to go to work with a hangover?
3 thoughts on “The hangover

  1. Pingback: The people you meet, the things you read | movingfeet

Leave a Reply

